Lorraine Geijer Memorial Lepidoptera Scholarship

from the Prairie Sky Foundation

Fund established on March 27, 2016 by Nicole Porter-Salvato and Daniel Salvato in memory of Nicole's' mother Lorraine Geijer Porter. The Prairie Sky Foundation seeks to assist undergraduate students with an specific interest in education in Butterfly Research and Conservation. Students should show interest and a sincere desire to continue their education with the capacity for academic success as a Naturalist and Lepidopterist.

Eligibility Requirements:

• Students must be registered in a degree seeking program in biology or animal behavior.

• Students must be enrolled as an undergraduate in the current Academic Year.

• Students must have a minimum GPA of 3.5

• Students must obtain two letters of recommendation addressing the student’s capacity for academic success and his or her character. One of the letters, preferably, should be from the student’s instructor/professor, present or past.

• Students must submit a personal statement/letter with a brief chronology and description of the student’s interest in Wildlife Ecology, Animal Science, Environmental Studies, Ecology, Prairie restoration and public policy, and what the student has done to develop his or her mind and character in these areas.

• The finalist may be asked to participate in a phone interview.

• Finalist may be selected to participate in a Butterfly Reintroduction at the Beneficial Insects Lab in Rolling Ground, Wisconsin. 

PLEASE NOTE: To be considered for this scholarship, completed applications, including letters of recommendation, must be submitted by Monday, June 16, 2020.

A decision will be made by the end of July 2020.



Award: $500

Deadline: 06/16//2020

Summary Questions

  1. Are you currently enrolled?

  2. Do you have a minimum 3.5 GPA?

  3. Have you uploaded a personal statement?

  4. Did you froward one letter of recommendation?

  5. Did you forward a second letter of recommendation?

For additional information on requirements for this scholarship or on the scholarship application process, please contact Prairie Sky or the university office below.


DePaul University


University of Chicago


UW Madison



Adler University

Roosevelt University

Benedictine University