International Yak Association Porter-Salvato Scholarship


Future epigeneticists:

IYAK helping to create experts in Bos mutus grunniens .



Fund established on October 13, 1017 by Nicole Porter-Salvato and Daniel Salvato in memory of Dan's' father Anthony Thomas Salvato. The Prairie Sky Foundation seeks to assist undergraduate students with an specific interest in education in Epigenetic Livestock Research and Conservation. Students should show interest and a sincere desire to continue their education with the capacity for academic success as a Geneticist and Microbiologist.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Students must be registered in a degree seeking program in biology or animal behavior.

  • Must be enrolled as an undergraduate in the current Academic Year.

  • Have a minimum GPA of 3.5

  • Obtain two letters of recommendation addressing the student’s capacity for academic success and his or her character. One of the letters, preferably, should be from the student’s instructor/professor, present or past.

  • Submit a personal statement/letter with a brief chronology and description of the student’s interest in Public Policy and one or more of the following: Biomedical Studies, Genetics, Wildlife Ecology, and Animal Science, and what the student has done to develop his or her mind and character in these areas.

  • Finalist may be asked to participate in a phone interview.

  • Finalist may be selected to participate in a conference presentation at the Winter International Yak Association Conference, Denver, CO.

  • PLEASE NOTE: To be considered for this scholarship, completed applications, including letters of recommendation, must be submitted by Monday, January 13, 2020.


A decision will be made by the end of February 2020.

Award: $500

Deadline: 01/13/2020

Summary Questions

  1. Are you currently enrolled?

  2. Do you have a minimum 3.5 GPA?

  3. Have you uploaded a personal statement?

  4. Did you froward one letter of recommendation?

  5. Did you forward a second letter of recommendation?

For additional information on requirements for this scholarship or on the scholarship application process, please contact a university office below.



DePaul University


University of Chicago


UW Madison



Adler University

Roosevelt University


Benedictine University